top of page



The Northern Tier Solid Waste Authority (NTSWA) was created in 1973 as a municipal authority under the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania by the counties of Bradford, Tioga and Sullivan to handle their waste management needs. This was the first three-county solid waste authority ever established in Pennsylvania and still remains the only one today. The Authority consists of nine board members with three (3) members being from each county, appointed by the county commissioners on staggered 5 year terms.

bottom of page